de.press.ing.

After a fabulous Homecoming weekend at my alma mater, I woke up this morning ready to get in a great workout. I just joined Gold’s Gym last week and as part of a welcome package I received two free training sessions and a health/body assessment. I showed up this morning expecting a hardcore strength training session and a pat on the back for all of the running I’ve been doing lately.

Unfortunately, that’s almost the opposite of what I got. I did get in a 15 minute strength training session, but it was only after an ugly weigh-in and body fat reading. I’ll spare you, and my pride, the actual numbers, but lets just say it’s a saddddd situation. I’m almost 50 pounds heavier than I was when I entered college. Whaaaat? How is that even possible? That’s like the equivalent of my seven year old cousin. All of those candy binges and late-night dinners with my girlfriends teamed up with the hours I spent NOT working out and settled nicely onto my hips and thighs. and stomach. and arms.

I want to be sad and disappointed and drown my sorrows in a bag of bubble gum, but what would that do? Just make me fatter. Instead, I’m channeling it into my workouts. There is no justifiable reason for me to be overweight and there’s absolutely no reason I can’t have a body like Jessica Biel or Kim Kardashian (I’ll pass on the ginormous boobs though). All I have to do is work for it. It’s going to take a lot of dedication: early bedtimes, early morning workouts, sore muscles, drastically reduced sugar/junk food intake (the hardest part of all of this for me)…but it’s worth it. I’m worth it. And I know once I really get into the habit, I won’t be able to go back.

So here’s to working it out, working it off and never looking back!

Leave a Reply

