powersong.

{courtesy of Nike}

I’m lucky in that I can run without music. Sometimes I even prefer it. I guess I just love running (whaaaat?). But there are definitely times when music distracts me from my tired legs or gives me the push I need to speed up. and I definitely wouldn’t survive on the dreadmill without my iPod. I noticed last time that I wasted so much energy skipping songs though, so I’ve decided to create new playlists weekly to keep things interesting. Here’s the first 10 songs…

1. Coldplay. Viva La Vida :: I dare you to run to this and not run faster. It’s not possible.

2. Coldplay. Lovers in Japan :: “lovers, keep on the road you’re on. runners, until the race is run.” enough said.

3. Rihanna. We Found Love :: The first time I heard this song was during a Zumba class and I literally downloaded it before I could walk out of the gym. Nike would call this a “powersong.” I’m sparing you the actual video because it’s kind of a downer.

4. Kanye West. Power :: First of all, I love Kanye. Second, this song is great for when you’re losing steam and you don’t care about speed or pace. You just wanna keep going.

5. Beyonce. Run The World (Girls) :: I have a love/hate relationship with this song. When I first heard it, I was slightly disappointed in my beloved Beyonce. Then I saw her perform it at the Billboard Awards and my love for her was renewed. Then I put it on a running playlist and magic happened. Plus, I’m really hoping that after a year of running my legs end up looking like hers.

6. Cee Lo Green. Cry Baby :: My brother introduced me to this song last weekend and I haven’t stopped playing it since then. I’m so excited to listen to it on my next long run. There’s nothing better than a breakup song that makes you wanna dance.

7. Florence + The Machine. Dog Days Are Over :: “run fast for your mother, run fast for your father. run for your children, for your sisters and brothers. leave all your love and your longing behind. you can’t carry it with you if you want to survive.” again. enough said.

8. Chris Brown. Beautiful People :: I don’t care what they say about CB. This is my jam. I always play this at the end of a run because I know I’ll finish strong.

9. Kanye West feat. Chris Martin. Homecoming :: I. Love. This. Song. I once spent 20 minutes explaining extended metaphors to my ex-boyfriend’s 11 year old nephew by using every single line of this song to demonstrate. He totally loved it.

10. Tye Tribbett. Chasing After You (The Morning Song) :: This song inspired the original title of this blog. It perfectly describes the way I feel about God and my relationship with him. I fail a lot in this life, but I’ll never stop trying. I’ll never stop chasing Him. Running, especially in the morning, is a great time for me to pray and really connect with God. If you’ve never tried it, you definitely should. And if you’ve never tried Him, you most definitely should.

That’s it for this week, but there’s plenty more where these came from. Keep reading and keep running!

Leave a Reply

