great expectations.

I had so many plans today.

I planned to wake up early and attend my favorite Zumba class. What I actually did was oversleep and wake up to the sounds of my dog getting sick (yes, that kind of sick) on my gorgeous duvet cover.

I planned to drive into the city and attend the Marine Corps Marathon Expo at the D.C. Armory. What I actually did was look out my window and saw sleet (in October!) and ended up not driving anywhere.

I planned to PR at the 2nd Annual Ghost, Goblins and Ghouls 5k in Leesburg, VA. Instead I chickened out and stayed home for fear that I’d slip on some ice and ruin my training.

I spent the better part of my day eating Pizza Hut (mostly veggie lovers with a a slice of pepperoni thrown in there because I still haven’t fully grasped the concept that meals can be consumed without meat), eating candy that I should have saved for Halloween and cleaning out my closet. I didn’t want the day to be a total waste so I hopped on the treadmill around 6pm. I was determined to run a 5k today.

After warming up for a few minutes on the elliptical, I started running but still felt out of breath. That’s normal for me for the first half mile so I pushed through it. I had set my treadmill to a 5k course that included some monster inclines. I was really pushing it but I felt sluggish, I was sweating like crazy and I was discouraged by my time. Even though my treadmill said I was running a 12:30 pace, my nike+ app kept pausing for no reason and my garmin said I was running super slow. Like 15:00 – 18:00/mile slow. I know treadmills give you a false sense of hope but not a 5 minute difference! The numbers on my garmin were stressing me out so much that even when I felt my body get adjusted to the run, I couldn’t get my head in it. My feet started to hurt halfway through (breaking in new shoes) and pretty soon I crashed into a big wall. Right after a particularly dreadful incline, my body decided it had had enough. I tried slowing down but I really had nothing left at that point so I stopped at 2.5 miles.

I was really discouraged that I didn’t finish the run, but I realized that bad runs will happen. I felt better when I looked at my nike+ app and saw this…

12:26/mile. Exactly where I wanted to be. So who do I trust? I’m thinking from now on I’ll go with my Garmin outside and my Nike+ app inside. Because obviously my Garmin foot pod hates me.

All-in-all, I’m glad today was kind of a fail. Setting expectations keeps me in check. When I meet them, I feel accomplished. When I surpass them, I feel so proud and eager to find out how much further I can go. When I don’t meet them, I feel determined and focused. I want to find out what went wrong and how I can change it. And I will. I reworked my training schedule a little and now I’ve got another 5-miler planned for tomorrow. Come hell, high water or snow, I will finish it.

Leave a Reply

