let’s recap.

I can’t even believe that we’re already 2 weeks into November! I have 2 races coming up so it’s really important that I stick to my training schedule and I did a pretty good job this week…

Monday, 11/7/11 – Rest

I’ve missed Zumba so many times these last few weeks because of my school schedule. Definitely need to change that soon. I miss it.

Tuesday, 11/8/11 – 3.12 miles in 39:35 (12:42 avg. pace)

Super difficult run, but a definite confidence booster.

Wednesday, 11/9/11 – Rest 

Thursday, 11/10/11 – 4.03 miles in 52:10 (12:57 avg. pace)

This is the run where I realized how much my cycle affects my running. (TMI? Sorry gentlemen, but this is a blog for beginning runners. Gotta share it all!) Apparently female runners don’t need PMS or cramps to announce their period. I knew it was coming when I got on that treadmill and STRUGGLED to keep my pace under 13:00/mile. I finished this run looking like I worked out in the pool.

Friday, 11/11/11 – Rest 

Saturday, 11/12/11 – Unplanned Rest

I woke up on Saturday feeling absolutely terrible and ended up spending the entire day in bed. I started to feel better towards the end of the day and really wanted to run, but I decided not to push it.

Sunday, 11/13/11 – 7.03 miles in 1:33:43 (13:20 avg. pace)

I’m so proud of myself for adjusting my schedule and completing my long run this weekend. I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to finish it after feeling so bad yesterday. I decided to just listen to my body and run according to how I was feeling. That ended up being around 13:30/mile. At the 3 mile mark (which is the standard mileage of my weekday runs) I hit a big wall. I stopped for water and to take my first gel ever: a Clif Shot Gel in Strawberry. It was warm and gooey, but bearable. I drank a lot more water than I should have to wash it down though which made me feel slow and heavy for the next 2 miles. I really started to struggle because I was discouraged at how slow I was running and how tired I felt. Stupid. I stopped at a bench area along the trail to stretch and told myself that long runs aren’t about speed. They’re about endurance. This is when I build my foundation and teach my body how to run for long periods of time. I didn’t care if it took me 3 hours to finish. As long as I ran every step, I was heading in the right direction. So I start running again and at mile 5.5, I randomly got a second win and took off. I finished my last mile in 11:42 and ran the last .2 at a 10:15/mile pace. Best pace? 9:47/mile.

I said all of that to say….this week’s long run was awesome.

 

Totals – 

miles this week :: 14.17

miles this month :: 24.17

miles this year :: 181.28

 

 

3 thoughts on “let’s recap.

  1. You are amazing.. I love reading your blogs… keep up the challenge as that is what life is about.. I think back to the first day I meant you about 5 yrs ago.. You have come such a long way keep it up girl… I will continue to follow.. much love

  2. Pingback: What’s Happening Wednesday: Goals | Jerrell::Renee::Runs

Leave a Reply

