Thirsty Thursday: Delicious and Nutritious.

I’m counting down the days until this semester is over for many reasons including having time to cook again. When I moved to New Orleans for my first year of law school in August 2010, I couldn’t cook at all. Nothing I made ever tasted good and I only did it if I absolutely had to. After a couple of months of complete isolation (from a combination of nonstop reading and being 17 hours away from everyone I loved), I started to focus my attention on running and cooking. I needed something to distract me from my misery and it worked like a charm. I’ve been creating (or adapting) my own recipes and look forward to posting them here, but for now I want to introduce you to a few of my favorite recipes by others.

I learned very quickly that watching cooking shows like Giada at Home and The Barefoot Contessa made cooking seem more accessible. There is a world of difference between reading the words “carefully fold egg whites into the mixture” and watching it happen. That’s when I discovered Jessica Seinfeld. If you read my weekly blog on Posh’s Black Book, you already know that she’s my kitchen hero. Between her two cookbooks and her website, doitdelicious.com, she singlehandedly taught me how to cook.

{source}

I’ve made almost every recipe on her website and have only had one unfortunate outcome involving Stewy Shrimp. (I got a little heavy-handed with the wine on that one. Sorry Dad!) I chose to post her Succulent Lemon-Thyme Salmon recipe today because it’s super easy and looks great on a plate. It’s guaranteed to make you feel like a chef. Make it for a date this weekend or do what I did and challenge your date to a cook-off with it. I won by a unanimous vote of 3 very tough judges. (He’s still mad about it.) Pair your salmon with a green veggie (I prefer sauteed spinach or asparagus) and brown rice for a delicious and nutritious meal!

Leave a Reply

