Long Run ‘List: Christmas Edition

The day after Thanksgiving is all about eating leftovers, bargain shopping and decorating for Christmas. Every year since I can remember, the weekend after Thanksgiving I’ve gone to my Aunt and Uncle’s house for a Christmas Tree party. My cousins and I would listen to Stevie Wonder’s Christmas album while we decorated the tree. I guess this tradition taught me that as soon as Thanksgiving comes and goes, I’m allowed to (officially) dust off the Christmas albums. I am so excited for my next long run because I’m planning on listening to these songs while I’m running through the neighborhood watching everyone put up their Christmas lights.

Last year’s Christmas card. 10 points to whoever guesses where the idea came from!

1. *NSYNC. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays :: Random fact of the day – I read once that JC Chasez loved the Redskins and I had a plan to have my Dad give him an autograph in exchange for a chance to meet the group and go to one of their concerts. Not following through with that plan is my biggest regret from middle school. (only half kidding.)

2. New Edition. All I Want for Christmas is my Girl :: I still have this album on tape. That shows how much I loved it. (p.s. I apologize for the bad quality of that video. Seriously, what is that picture? A stuffed animal?)

3. Christina Aguilera. This Christmas :: I love the original version of this song, but I find myself listening to this one more. It reminds me of the old Christina.

4. Diana Ross & The Supremes. My Favorite Things :: I didn’t even know this was a Christmas song until I bought the Motown Christmas album. It makes me so happy.

5. Glee Cast. We Need a Little Christmas :: Every time I hear this song I think about the scene where they went caroling and the British kid yells out “YOU’RE MAKING ME HATE CHRISTMAS!” I found that entirely too funny.

6. Lady Gaga. Christmas Tree :: A Gaga gem. If you clicked on the video and wondered why I posted it, it’s because I was tired of videos with just a picture. Plus, they deserve to have someone post their video after putting all of that effort in!

7. Bobby Helms. Jingle Bell Rock :: two words: Home Alone.

8. Maroon 5. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) :: For some reason this song makes me want to cry every time I hear it.

9. Stevie Wonder. Someday at Christmas :: If you watch the old home videos of our Christmas mornings, you can always hear this song in the background. It defines Christmas for me.

10. Glee Cast. Welcome Christmas :: Imagine bundling up and running through your neighborhood on Christmas Eve to look at everyone’s Christmas lights in the snow. Perfection.

Leave a Reply

