Behind the Blogger part deux.

In case you missed it, here’s part one.

11. I love New York City and have been wanting to move there for the last 5 years. I’m still holding on to hope that it’ll happen when I graduate, but for now, I try to visit every chance I get. Just thinking about running the ING New York City Marathon with Fred’s Team there next year gives me chills.

12. Last May, I was so desperate to get out of New Orleans as soon as finals ended that I drove myself all the way home alone. That’s a 17 hour trip. What’s really strange is I loved every minute of it. I listened to my favorite songs, ate the healthiest foods I could find (Thank God for Smoothie King!), I stopped in Atlanta to visit my sister and nephews and I thought about the amazing year I had at Loyola New Orleans College of Law. At that point I was still in shock that I had even gone to law school in the first place! It was one of the best road trips of my life. Just me and my little Prius.

13. I’ve talked about this before but there’s no way I could give a glimpse into my life without mentioning it. During my sophomore year of college, I lost my grandfather to lung cancer. I’ve been extremely close to my grandparents my whole life and without a doubt my grandpa is to blame for creating my lifelong sweet tooth. He would bring me a box of Bazooka Joe gum every week and when I would spend the night at their house, he would wait until my Grandma went to sleep to ask me if I wanted an ice cream sandwich. When he got sick, I was the only grandchild he would ask to drive him to his doctor’s appointments or the hospital. I’m not sure if that’s because he thought I was a better driver than the other grandkids who could drive at the time or if he just knew I could handle it. When he died, those moments were the ones I held onto knowing that I had soaked up every second with him.

14. Besides sweets, my biggest indulgence is wine. After a few years of craziness in college, I have come to terms with the fact that I’m not a big drinker. Shots are my worst enemy and I just don’t enjoy the taste of liquor. And call me crazy but I just can’t get wrap my mind around drinking something I don’t like only to feel sick later. Wine is a different story. I love the taste of it and am completely satisfied with 2 glasses. When I first became a wine drinker, I could only do sweet whites, but I’ve recently started trying more reds and have been pleasantly surprised.

15. After posting a picture of my race bib from the Hot Chocolate 15k, I realized I should probably offer an explanation of my name. My real name is Jarrell. It was supposed to be a mash-up (Glee word!) of my parents names, but it ended up being Darrell with a J. After a year or so, my parents realized that everyone kept pronouncing it that way (sounds like Jarel) so they changed the spelling to Jerrell. Just not legally. Which is why every time I register for anything using my legal name, it looks like I don’t know how to spell my own name. I’ll change it eventually, but sometimes I actually like it spelled with an A. Weird. (p.s. the new spelling didn’t help the situation at all.)

16. I have twin cousins. That sounds weird. I have 2 cousins who are twins. Their names are Lindsay and Kelly. I prefer to think of myself as their younger triplet. The three of us have been inseparable since I was a baby. We would have sleepovers every weekend and I always had to sit in the middle of them (in the car, at the dinner table, on the couch) so neither felt like they were being left out. As we’ve grown older and started our own lives (one’s married, one’s engaged, i’m in a tumultuous relationship with law school), we’ve kept such a strong bond and I am so thankful for that. Bonus: I got Lindsay and her fiancé to sign up for RnR USA as their first race! What a great way to start their new lives together!

17. I have a crazy obsession with The Biggest Loser. Like…watch it every week. Watch old episodes daily (not an exaggeration). Follow my favorite contestants on twitter. And I obviously cry during every single episode. My parents get so sick of hearing the contestants and I weep when I watch it on my iPad while I eat dinner. I don’t care though, that show is instant motivation for me.

hands down…favorite/funniest contest ever: Hannah Curlee (Season 11)

18. I can’t dance. Shocking, I know. I can follow choreography. I can jam my butt off in Zumba. Take me to a club, and I feel like the most awkward human alive. I probably look like I have an attitude problem at parties because I just stand and people watch, but it’s because I refuse to make a fool of myself. There are 2 situations in which the above doesn’t apply: 1. when any reggae music is played (all you have to do is move your hips) and 2. when any Beyonce song is played. Because if all else fails, I know the choreography from the video. (half kidding.)

19. I have a family family and a football family and together they make up the most vital people in my life. My dad had been playing for the Redskins for 3 years already when I was born. My first friends in life, besides my cousins, were his teammates kids. Our godparents are all former teammates and their wives. We’ve all grown up and some of us have moved away, but they are still some of my favorite people in this world and lifelong members of my family. So now if you ever hear me refer to NFL Live’s Mark Schlereth as “Uncle Mark” and you get confused because he’s clearly white and I’m clearly not, you’ll understand why. I’ve been calling him that since his daughter, Alex, and I were choreographing dance routines to Paula Abdul’s “Straight Up.”

I will never not love this picture.

20. My family needs a reality show. My parents’ house is completely out of control. At any time you could walk in our front door and find a 5 hour (intense!) Monopoly game happening, my dad might be having a full-on jazz jam session in his room at 1am, or maybe my sister and I are in the kitchen teaching our 6 year old cousin Cullen the lyrics to “All I Do Is Win,” and there’s a 75% chance you’ll walk into a house full of women drooling over Honesty bracelets at one of my Mom’s Posh Parties. Or you could just find this…

No matter what day it is, my house is the place to be. And although I cannot wait to move back out, I’m pretty sure I’ll swing by once a day just to make sure my parents aren’t too miserable without me.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blogger part deux.

  1. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday: Christmas Cocktail | Jerrell::Renee::Runs

Leave a Reply

